Thirty Days has November Wardrobe Challenge.

How many clothes do I really need?

Over the years, I have learned to keep in my wardrobe only those clothes I really love, and which I honestly think I will wear.

At the end of each season, when I swap over my winter clothes to summer and vice versa, I invariably find there are several items I have not worn.

Sometimes there is good reason. This year, for instance, my posh summer frocks languished for lack of garden parties, weddings and meals out with friends. Often, however, there is no excuse: I could have worn it, but I didn’t. If this happens to the same thing more than two years running, I have to ask myself, do I really love it?

The Thirty Days has November Wardrobe Challenge invites us to choose just thirty items from our wardrobe and wear those items and those items only for the whole of November. I’ve decided to accept this challenge. I have included shoes but not accessories in my thirty items. I have also excluded sleepwear, underwear, sportswear and my “scruffs” worn for housework and gardening.

I’ve compiled a complete list (with photos) at the end of this blog, but thought I’d share with you the thought processes behind my choices.

First, I asked myself what I’ll be doing in November:

  • A lot of working from home in my cold studio (a converted cart barn). I need layers to keep me warm.
  • Zoom meetings – I need to be visible and to carry authority above the keyboard.
  • Assuming Huntingdon stays in tier one, I’ll be holding face to face client consultations and attending small meetings.
  • Getting outside into the open air – I’ll need warm casual clothes and sensible boots.
  • Going into town shopping.
  • Church on a Sunday
  • Possible evenings out with my husband and family.
  • The remote possibility of a party – even just a virtual one!

My thirty items are therefore:

  • Jeans: two pairs of jeans.
  • Trousers: one smart-casual; one smart.
  • Skirts: one casual and fun, two smart-casual.
  • Knitwear: thick woolly jumper, smart-casual tunic, smart cardigan which will double as a jacket.
  • Three jackets, two lightweight indoor/outdoor, one heavier weight.
  • Eight tops, varying colours – all plain.
  • Formal “party” lace top and camisole (counted as two items).
  • Poncho – doubles as a cosy blanket at my computer and a casual throw for going out.
  • Smart coat for going out.
  • Casual warm jacket for country walks.
  • Smart heels.
  • Two pairs of ankle boots.
  • Flat boots for walking.

I think that should cover it. We shall see. You can follow my progress on my Facebook Page, on Instagram (Mary_real_you_styling) and on my blog here.

And, why not join me? I’d love to see your outfits too.

Leave a comment