Which Song are You?

Oh I have had so much fun this week!
You see, once upon a time I used to be quite a music buff. When I say once upon a time I am meaning that time when T Rex was not only a band (Ah, that Marc Bolan…) but a very real and present danger if you stepped outside without wearing your dinosaur repellent!
So, seeing that I have decided to write you a musical blog this week, I have been riffling through the extensive musical files in my head trying to come up with the perfect songs.
Well, some choices were completely obvious (you may disagree) and some I really had to think about.
And, as I pretty much moved over to Classic FM in 1995, everything’s pretty old.
I’ve started to listen to music again now that my eldest has turned into a teenager, but I have to say her musical choices seem very tame. I kinda feel that teenagers today are just not trying hard enough? In my day there was Glam Rock, followed by Punk, Heavy Metal, The New Romantics… What does my daughter listen to? Katie Perry. Well, at least she (my daughter) has been inspired to put electric blue streaks in her hair for summer, but the rebel in me is so far extremely disappointed. Still, she’s only thirteen: lots of time yet.
Oh, and her father is horrified at the thought of blue streaks. I’m cheering her on! I’m longing to see blue streaks in my Classic Ingenue (that means she’s elegant and delicately pretty) daughter’s hair!
So this is the last blog for a while as I’m taking a break for the summer. I aim to finish the first draft of my second novel and get started on the third, practise my running along the length of the sea wall at Point Clear (Couch Potato to 5K), and have a mellow time with sun, sea and – er – mud. But – as I’ve shared with you before, we may have oyster beds and mud instead of sand, but we do have the most wonderful sunsets. The perfect accompaniment to a Sundowner!
Sundowner
 
1 1/2 oz Malibu
5 oz pineapple juice
2 dashes Angostura Bitters
 
Shake everything together and pour over  ice. Lots and lots of ice.

The view from my holiday home.

Now, if you spend as much time as I do on Facebook, then you cannot have escaped the “Which Disney Princess are you?” (I got Mulan – Whaaat?), “Which Winged Creature are you?” (I got Cherub when, dammit, I wanted Seraph), even “Which Terrible Death Did You Die?” (Eaten by a dinosaur!) So, I thought I’d join in the fun.
You won’t have time to click through them all, but you might see a few old favourites here and think “Oh Perfect”, or – more likely – “Why on earth did she pick that one?” and I hope you’ll enjoy your own season and  clothing personality.
In the interests of time (mine) and boredom (yours) I have only thought about the main clothing personalities. If you can think of a better song for you, then please, please share it! Those of you who did – you’re listed, and thank you!
So, without more ado:
  • Winter – ah well, The Bangles’ Hazy Shade of Winter? No – Winters are never hazy, they are clear. Same goes for Visage’s Fade to Grey; no fading allowed! Having watched Frozen with the kids the other night I am so, so tempted by Let it Go, but in the end, thinking about our British Winters, and the strong colouring and even the artist himself – it had to be Prince’s Purple Rain. I think that was before he became “(squiggle) The Artist Formerly Known as Prince…”
  • Summer – oh, what an amazing range of choices to make. Eddie Cochran’s Summertime Blues sprang to mind (this version by The Who), but the whole feel of that is too edgy for the softer hues of summer. What about Elkie Brooks’ Lilac Wine? Well, it’s a bit overwhelming and depressing, isn’t it? Especially when sung by Miley Cyrus here. In the end, because denim blue is such a Summer colour and because we say “think of an English summer garden”, we probably can’t get closer than (Lord) David Dundas singing Jeans On. But – (please), can I also include Olaf’s song about summer from Frozen – it’s just so, so funny and poignant.
  • Spring – sometimes the perfect song is so perfect there’s just no room for further speculation. Katrina and the Waves Walking on Sunshine.
  • Autumn – far more difficult. What about that song that starts “All the leaves are brown…”? Well, it’s a great song, but more a pean for a lost summer, really. Jeff Wayne’s Forever Autumn from War of the Worlds (Justin Haywood’s version)? Nah – depressing again. I think this song perfectly fits the warmth and coziness of Autumn, with that slight nip in the air that the Stranglers bring to Golden Brown.
So – Clothing Personalities. If I’ve got yours wrong then just tell me!
  • Dramatic – can’t get better than Michael Jackson’s Black or White. Because – it always is, isn’t it! Even for those few of you who are not Winters.
  • Classic – for you, my dears, we have to have a classic; Billy Joel and Uptown Girl.
  • Natural Classic (with grateful thanks to Judith, a Summer NC) Neil Diamond Forever in Blue Jeans.
  • Natural – oh this was hard. I thought about John Denver’s Annie’s Song(“You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,” and so on), I wanted the cowboy steel guitar of Bon Jovi’s Wanted Dead or Alive, but in the end I plumped for somebody most of you won’t have heard of unless you’re into Country music, Trace Adkins’ Ladies Love Country Boys (with a pick-up truck and a farmer’s tan)! It’s a fun video this one – well worth watching.
  • Gamine Easy! Cyndi Lauper’s Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (Although I was rather tempted by Dave Brubeck’s Take Five; just for the odd kick in its gallop.)
  • Ingenue Well, title-wise, Pretty in Pink by the Psychedelic Furs is perfect, but the song itself is far too rough and edgy for you lovely, delicate and classy ladies, so you get Pretty Woman by Roy Orbison, and very suitable it is too.
  • Natural Romantics – oh, we want something easy but punchy. We want glamour, yet the call of the wild. Ah well, when Emilio Estavez was making the film of Billy the Kid, Young Guns II, he asked for Bon Jovi’s Wanted Dead or Alive for the soundtrack. Jon Bon Jovi thought the lyrics weren’t quite right and, while everyone was sitting down eating hamburgers, snatched a napkin and in six minutes wrote Blaze of Glory. Now that’s talent.
  • Romantics – Well, because you girls need your bling, Paul Simon’s Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes perhaps? Hmm, I think the South African feel of that is too ethnic for most Romantics. So – with loads of pomp and ceremony and knowing how much many of you are prepared to pay for your shoes and handbags, your manicures and pampering (and quite right too) I give you Shirley Bassey’s Big Spender! (Oh, and check out that dress she’s not quite wearing! Fab, isn’t it!)
  • Romantic Naturals – Oh for you girls it’s gotta be big, it’s gotta be bold, it’s gotta be – Holding out for a Hero by Bonnie Tyler.
And, just a couple more suggestions that you lovely lovely people were pleased to send me:
  • Rosie – “Winter Romantic/Drama Queen” (her words) Queen’s The Show Must Go On
  • Caroline – Autumn Natural Dramatic Beer For My Horses by Toby Keith. If you have the time to spare I would urge you to watch this video. It tells brilliantly the whole story of two cops catching a serial killer in just five minutes 23 seconds. It’s a great piece of film. And with Willy Nelson too: what’s not to love? Thanks Caroline for this suggestion. I love it.
As always – tell me what you think. I mean, this wasn’t exactly about clothes today was it? Just some fun. I hope you don’t mind.

Thoughts on the blog  just click here.

Wishing you all a wonderful summer and I’ll see you in September.

3 thoughts on “Which Song are You?

  1. Natural, natural classic, classic, classic romantic…. arrghh! I dinae know who I am, nevermind what song I am! :o/
    Hey, have a grrreat summer.
    Love that couch to 5k app. What’s ta running playlist? Now that, surely, is the question! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

