A Week In a Cabin Bag

No, No! Your clothes go in the bag, you go to the beach below!

Now for our week I have assumed that we are going somewhere nice and warm, where we don’t have to worry about packing an umbrella, raincoat, fleece and snow-boots; hmmm, not anywhere in the UK then!

I have also assumed that you are packing for yourself only and do not have small children who will require an additional articulated lorry to carry all their stuff), and that you are merely planning some serious beach/pool time, a little sight-seeing and maybe one or two nice meals out.

With those assumptions in place, let’s meet the bag!
2014-07-17 20.03.09

Yes, it’s a sweet little bag (that actually came free with something – I’ve forgotten what – but don’t tell anyone). It has wheels under the right hand side there and a pull out tow-along handle. It measures 50cm x 25cm x 25cm; easily small enough for a cabin case.

2014-07-17 20.03.44 And here it is, open. My husband has expressed amazement that not everything at once explodes out and makes a desperate bid for escape. No darling; it is full, but not overfull and the zip is not strained. More comments of that nature however and the quality of mercy in this house will be severely strained (sorry – Shakespearean joke there – just ignore it unless you did the Merchant of Venice at A level in which case you are probably still sniggering!). The secret is, girls, to roll everything up inside each other, you will be amazed at how much you can fit in!

So let’s start unpacking…

2014-07-17 20.04.04Oh yes, the Kindle. Never go anywhere without it!

The passport and tickets were inside this on Wednesday – forgot them tonight: oh well…

2014-07-17 20.05.43

The holiday handbag (because you can’t carry round your cabin bag all the time). This was a gift from my lovely friend Bonnie. I seem to remember it came with a tag that said “Only you would dare carry this!” Go on, tell her she’s wrong and that you would all love to take this on holiday…… c’mon now; don’t all shout at once (silence)….. Yup, Bonnie – you were right – again.

2014-07-17 20.06.32

So, it’s off the plane and straight onto the beach (Hey – in Tenerife the airport is so close to the beach that one almost expects the planes to go for a dip if they get the landing wrong). You didn’t expect a full size beach towel to have been packed inside that case, did you? But yes – it is full size, honestly. It was my Uncle Willie’s beach towel and is therefore rather more subdued than if I had packed my own which features a riot of palm trees and exotic birds (feathered variety!) but that’s in Essex at present, so I had to improvise.

2014-07-17 20.08.02Now, I don’t know about you, but I feel I’m past the age to parade around the beach/pool in just my bikini and that a little cover-up might be tactful! Oh, and it doubles as a dressing gown if necessary (must consider fire alarms you know!). The best bit? Look how teeny it is when stuffed into its own little carrying case…

2014-07-17 20.09.38

Ah, how sweet!

Now, while I could probably sit by the pool all day drinking cocktails (that £25 saved on the luggage goes quite a long way in happy hour) and reading my Kindle, my husband rather likes to be off doing something energetic like playing frisbee (he’s brought the frisbee) or walking along the breakers to the next town, so I need a little more than just swimsuits in that case. We might even go to the local market or visit those mysterious pyramids we’ve heard about.

2014-07-17 20.14.072014-07-17 20.12.49

One pair of shorts, a pair of flats and seven tops that all go with the shorts. (Did I mention that this blog also covers the delights of a capsule wardrobe?)

Can’t help feeling I’ve forgotten something, now what could it be?

2014-07-17 20.15.55

Ah yes, the hat (it squashes up small – obviously) It’s shown here with floral capris which (somehow) go with all those tops. Amazing, isn’t it? Ah, well not the patterned blue one, but that will come into its own in a moment.

Just in case it turns chilly, or the air conditioning in the terrace cafe where we’re having lunch is a little extreme, we might need a little warmth or coverage. This is the Kettlewell short cascade wrap. Well, actually, it’s two of them, put together so you get a lovely reversible garment. In fact, a lot of these clothes are from Kettlewell because they travel beautifully and the creases just shake out. And, of course, the colours are so great you have every opportunity to co-ordinate your wardrobe.

2014-07-17 20.19.36

He’s taking me out for the one restaurant meal we allow ourselves (it’s fortunate that I like to cook and that the steak and seafood here are all incredibly cheap in the markets because the local businesses really don’t make a huge amount of profit from us).

2014-07-17 20.18.07

Now, very cleverly, that blue top matches this skirt, turning it into an elegant dress. Add a pashmina and pretty sandalled heels and I’m ready to sashay into town and feast on lobster!

Bed time.

2014-07-17 20.20.43

Well, what can I say?

It’s hot. I’m hot. (He’s hot!)?

We may be able to forget the PJs….

2014-07-17 20.31.57

Lastly, we mustn’t forget cleaniness, (although I have heard that some of us may have a little amnesia over the godliness on holiday), beauty and accessories. I’ve packed my makeup bag (Julie Slater leather – very lovely) containing:
• Concealer
• BB cream (much lighter than full foundation for the sun, contains SPF 15, moisturiser and primer all in one
• Sponge to apply above
• Eye shadow palatte for Blue Springs (I’m not – but these colours go much better with the turquoise base of clothes I have chosen here)
• Teal eyeliner
• Brown eyeliner (for my brows)
• Navy Mascara
• Blusher and blusher brush
• Lipstick no. 30 (pink) I only need one colour because all these clothes will suit that pink.

I’ve packed a hairbrush, facewash and moisturiser, toothbrush and toothpaste, (the apartment provides soap, shampoo etc) , a little of my favourite perfume decanted into a tiny bottle (another gift: thank you Louise) and two sets of jewellery (necklace, earrings, bracelet), one fun and funky for day-wear, one more elegant for the evenings.

So there we are: a week in a cabin bag. I know you don’t really believe me, but any of the WIBN girls can vouch for my accuracy! And here it all is, spread out at once!

2014-07-17 20.36.15

Oh, and do you see that lace peeping out of the bag, where there’s still something in there I haven’t yet unpacked?

Well I’m not going to photograph my undies for you: I do feel that would be going just a little too far; don’t you?

6 thoughts on “A Week In a Cabin Bag

  1. I’m still speechless but have recovered enough to say that I have “bag packing envy” and also to say that I once had a bag like that. Mine was a freebie too, with an order from La Redoute catalogue.
    Sadly, it had to be binned. Why? Because I stuffed that much in it when away for a night or two (yes, just ONE night or TWO) that the zip bust and seams burst!
    Have a really great holiday Mary. :o)

  2. Well done ! I’m envious ! There is no mention of your clothing personality , but I am deducing from your commentary & pictures that you are a Natural of some form.
    I was converted by H.O.C . 21 years ago, but being a (Winter) FULL Romantic , a even after several “cabin bag” demos , I really struggle to keep below a 20kg allowance , that includes wearing all my jewellery for check in, and still having a cabin carry on bag of at least 5kg.!
    I want to indulge on holiday, I wouldn’t dream of wearing the same underwear all day ,each day at home , so I’m never going to do that on holiday! I want a fresh bikini and matching cover up , each day. I could survive doubling up on evening outfits , cos they’re only worn for a few hours, and I’m defiantly not going to be cooking in them ! I’m on holiday ! Admittedly I’ve now cut down to 6 pairs of shoes , & amazingly only 1 evening bag.
    Also I think you must have short wash & leave type hair? I’d sadly never feel confidant in trusting hotel products for my hair, I “need” my silverizing shampoo & condtioner & accompanying 5 other hair products.

    Then there’s 3 strengths of sfp sun tan lotions, body lotion, moisturising shower gel, buff puff, nail brush, emergency kit : nail file , touch up polish, top coat, tweezers , scissors, mini 1st aid kit, & medical “just in cases” (gaviscon, paracetamol, bite prevention & relief , etc.etc.) .
    So although I truly admire your economic packing , and would love to take less away, I’d have to change my style of holiday , become some other clothing personality, and therefore not be me !

  3. Feeling inspired having read this but going in a hotel I’d never get away with one outfit for the evening. Might try and use this when I go away later in the year.

Leave a Reply

