The Carnival Look – but less tasteful!

So last week I ended my blog by telling you that the Carnival look was more wearable than the Post Urban Traveller.

I’ve since reviewed this look and I take back that statement. This look is only more wearable if you’re an full on extravert with a fetish for bright colours and outrageous patterns. Yup – you’re right, I’m going to be doing a lot of this look this season. Yippee for me.

Less yippee for all you Classics out there. In fact, I’ve been having soothing conversations with a couple of you “new” Classics out there. Even though I know that you are keen to put your wardrobes to rights because at last you understand the rules and why you never felt comfortable in casual clothes, just hold your horses for this season, OK? Ain’t nothin’ for you girls here.

Of course,  all you Classics with many seasons’ experience under your belts  will say, as my dear friend did today when we were having lunch together, “Oh don’t worry: I still have all my lovely Classic clothes I bought five years ago. And I don’t do fashion anyway, as you know.”

Point taken. I understand that Hobbs and M&S understand you and here’s a lovely classic shift by M&S just to make you feel better.

You can't get more Classic than this, can you?
You can’t get more Classic than this, can you?

But now, girls, gird your loins, because from here on in the ride gets scary!

So this Carnival Look comes straight from Rio. It’s been partying hard all night and it probably took substances not quite legal to get it to this stage of rampaging exhibitionism. Gay Pride eat your heart out!

The shapes are either incredibly body-hugging (with eye-popping cutouts) or as billowing as a tea-clippers’ sails. Anything goes for patterns, just so long as the colours are bright and clashing and, if that were not enough, we’ve got metallic fabrics and big gem embellishments to add additional impact.

So, first don your sunglasses, and we’ll have a look at what’s on offer from where.

For those bold enough to do this look from top to toe….

Note the subtle contrast with the London Railings. A slight dissonance of place, I feel.
Note the subtle contrast with the London Railings. A slight dissonance of place, I feel.

No, even I wouldn’t go that far, although I am seriously wondering if anyone does pajamas in this print. I mean, Alastair wouldn’t ever lose me, even though we now have a king-sized bed, would he?

But maybe we could do a party dress…. how about this one from Selfridges?

An elegant choice to attend your parents' garden party perhaps?
An elegant choice to attend your parents’ garden party perhaps?

Or if you’d like something longer (and less expensive) H&M are offering this more restrained take on the look.

There, butter wouldn't melt in its mouth
There, butter wouldn’t melt in its mouth, would it?

But what about those of us who feel that, just maybe, we could do a little of this look, without covering our whole bodies in it? Well, there are lots of tops and jackets around. If it weren’t for the black, I’d rather fancy this one

Wear this to the pub and order Pina Coladas all evening (then fall over)
Wear this to the pub and order Pina Coladas all evening (then fall ignominiously over)

And remember I told you about billowy…

Room for two at least  in there!
Room for two at least in there!

Or you could do a statement jacket….

Waterfall Jacket, aptly named. Just as well it doesn't come with matching sound effects: you'd spend all night in the loo!
Waterfall Jacket, aptly named. Just as well it doesn’t come with matching sound effects: you’d spend all night in the loo!

And my absolute favourite – although I can’t see my husband or children letting me out in them in public….

Trousers to have fun in - but possibly all by yourself because your friends have all deserted you in shame and embarrassment.
Trousers to have fun in – but possibly all by yourself because your friends have all deserted you in shame and embarrassment.

So there you have the Carnival look. It’s obviously not one for the office, but it’s got a place in my wardrobe – however much my family may blush for me. Expect to see me on the beach in something similar. I only hope this look transports successfully  from Rio to Essex. I suppose it depends on the kind of summer we have. Let’s hope for a good one!

 

 

Leave a Reply

